I’m Mormon and a Democrat

Well there it is. Now it’s out there on the internet. People know now. Officially anyway.

I’ve been a Democrat for a few years now (officially). And I’ve been a Christian for more than that (born into it I guess you could say). 

So how can I be a Christian, a Mormon, and a Democrat?

I know some people say Mormons can’t be Christian for a multitude of reasons. We’re Christians because we believe in Christ. What other definition of a Christian is there? (More on that later, maybe…)

So how can I be white, lower-to-middle class, Christian AND A DEMOCRAT?!

I laugh, because I honestly don’t know why it matters so much to be a Republican when you’re a Christian.

I believe we should live by the golden rule. Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

I believe that we should live by the parable of the Good Samaritan. He helped and saved the life of his enemy, when no one else would. Is that not showing the pure love of Christ?

“Thou shalt love thy neighbor as thyself.” Matthew 22:39

“When ye are in the service of your fellow beings ye are only in the service of your God.” Mosiah 2:17

I believe we need to help our refugee brothers and sisters. We need to help the poIMG_2180.JPGor and needy. We need to help wherever we can, including our veterans, the homeless, the downtrodden, the families that need food stamps, the single fathers and single mothers that need WIC, the poor girl who can’t afford birth control, the hurting children that could benefit from more exploratory medicine, the general community who needs protection from mentally unstable people with access to guns, the list goes on.

What’s the difference between the Good Samaritan and the good Christian today? I’m still trying to figure it out.

May 2017 help us discover the true path we should take.

Leave a Reply

